The Bad Luck Bride

The Cavensham Heiresses

Author: Janna MacGregor

Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks

ISBN: 1250116139

Category: Fiction

Page: 340

View: 1971

DOWNLOAD →

All were shocked at the announcement of the “cursed” Lady Claire Cavensham to Lord Alexander Hallworth, the Marquess of Pembrooke, especially since she is already engaged to another unfortunate Lord. Perhaps she will make it to the altar this time with one of these fine gentlemen! —Midnight Cryer No one is left breathless at the imperious pronouncement of her engagement to Lord Pembrooke more than Claire. She hardly knows the dangerously outrageous man! But after three engagements gone awry and a fourth going up in glorious flames, she isn’t in a position to refuse... Alexander requires the hand of his enemy’s fiancée in marriage in order to complete his plans for revenge. It’s his good fortune that the “cursed” woman is desperate. However, what begins as a sham turns into something scandalously deeper... “Full-bodied romance...with intelligence and heart."—Cathy Maxwell "Captivating characters and a romance that sizzles."—Eloisa James "Will leave you swooning."—Sabrina Jeffries The Bad Luck Bride is the first in a new Regency romance series from Janna MacGregor!

Bad Luck

Author: Pseudonymous Bosch

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0316320439

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 288

View: 1282

DOWNLOAD →

The plot thickens in this New York Times-bestselling sequel to Bad Magic! Some people have all the luck. Unfortunately, Clay isn't one of them: He's the only camper at Earth Ranch without a magical talent. As if feeling totally useless isn't enough, Clay has to figure out what to do about Brett, a castaway boy who has just washed ashore and is determined to keep his presence a secret. Even as Clay helps his new friend hide in the remote volcanic island's wilderness, another fiery mystery begins to emerge, with all signs pointing to the impossible idea that dragons once roamed the island...and may still. Can Clay and his friends turn their luck around in time to uncover Price Island's secrets--and save it from a scorching end? Danger, adventure, mischief, mystery, old foes, new friends, and a delightfully elusive narrator make bestselling author Pseudonymous Bosch's latest novel completely irresistible.

Bad Luck And Trouble

(Jack Reacher 11)

Author: Lee Child

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1407037544

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 5361

DOWNLOAD →

"The invincible Reacher is as irresistible as ever." (Sunday Telegraph) You do not mess with Jack Reacher. He is as close to untraceable as a person can get. A loner comfortable in his anonymity and solitude. So when a member of his old Army unit finds a way to contact him, he knows this has to be serious. You do not mess with the Special Investigators. In the past the elite team always watched each other's backs. Now one of them has shown up dead in the California desert and six more are missing. Reacher's old buddies are in big trouble, and he can't let that go. Although the Jack Reacher novels can be read in any order, Bad Luck and Trouble is eleventh in the series.

Bad Luck in Berlin

An Exclusive Short Story

Author: Tom Wood

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1405513497

Category: Fiction

Page: 96

View: 7988

DOWNLOAD →

Victor has been out of the game for six months - but he's as deadly as ever. He's in Berlin, preparing for his first assignment as a CIA contractor: taking out the scout of a notorious crime lord. No one is supposed to die - not yet - but as Victor tracks his target, he realises he's not the only one interested in the scout . . . and if Victor is going to do his job, he has to stop someone else doing theirs. Packed with roaring action and breathless suspense, this specially priced, exclusive short story is perfect for fans of Tom Wood - and for readers who have yet to discover him.

Bad Luck Duck

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781741693461

Category: Big books

Page: 24

View: 3920

DOWNLOAD →

They have magical, rhythmic, rhyming text so students will want to read and re-read them over and over. For teachers, a different teaching focus is suggested for each day: - Day 1: Comprehension - Day 2: Vocabulary - Day 3: Flow/Phrasing/Fluency - Day 4: Phonic Knowledge, Phonemic Awareness - Day 5: Oral, Written and Visual Language The FOCUS PANEL provides prompts to support each focus. 1 copy of 1 Big Book.

Seth Seppi Mystery 2: The Bad Luck Lighthouse

Author: Nicki Thornton

Publisher: Chicken House

ISBN: 1912626365

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 336

View: 6786

DOWNLOAD →

In solving the mystery of the Last Chance Hotel, Seth has discovered a bewildering new world of magic. Soon, Seth and his cat Nightshade are embroiled in the latest MagiCon case, a murder investigation at a deserted lighthouse ...

The Best Bad Luck I Ever Had

Author: Kristin Levine

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781440699405

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 272

View: 811

DOWNLOAD →

The last thing Harry ?Dit? Sims expects when Emma Walker comes to town is to become friends. Proper -talking, brainy Emma doesn?t play baseball or fi sh too well, but she sure makes Dit think, especially about the differences between black and white. But soon Dit is thinking about a whole lot more when the town barber, who is black, is put on trial for a terrible crime. Together Dit and Emma come up with a daring plan to save him from the unthinkable. Set in 1917 and inspired by the author?s true family history, this is the poignant story of a remarkable friendship and the perils of small-town justice

Bad Luck, Lucy!

Author: Sue Graves

Publisher: Crabtree Publishing Company

ISBN: 9780778738510

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 23

View: 7735

DOWNLOAD →

Lucy saw a shiny coin. Dad siad it was lucky. Lucy wanted to show everyone her new find...

The Bad Luck Day

Author: Holly Anna

Publisher: Little Simon

ISBN: 1534442650

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 128

View: 3010

DOWNLOAD →

Every kid in the world has had a Bad Luck Day, but Daisy Dreamer’s might be the unluckiest Bad Luck Day ever in this eleventh chapter book in the series. It started with a broken mirror. Daisy Dreamer should have been more careful, but accidents happen. But one broken mirror leads to an outrageous day for Daisy and her imaginary friend, Posey. Now there’s a black cat following them everywhere, ladders to walk under around every corner, and a mischievous mirror version of Posey named Yesop has appeared, and he thinks bad luck is the best thing in the world! It’s up to Daisy and her dreamy outlook to save everyone from the Bad Luck Day. With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, the Daisy Dreamer chapter books are perfect for emerging readers.

Melancholy Accidents

Three Centuries of Stray Bullets and Bad Luck

Author: Peter Manseau

Publisher: Melville House

ISBN: 1612195075

Category: True Crime

Page: 224

View: 5876

DOWNLOAD →

Did you know that fatal gun mishaps have been so common in America that for centuries, newspapers carried regular columns reporting on “melancholy accidents”? It came as a surprising discovery when, while conducting research that involved reading colonial-era newspapers, acclaimed writer Peter Manseau stumbled upon one report after another of “melancholy accidents”—instances of local people accidentally discharging firearms to disastrous results. Usually, they were brief items, with the concision of dark poetry—hunting accidents, neighbor shooting neighbor, father shooting son. Dark as they were, they were also often bizarre and fascinating—such as the case of one farmer who, trying out his new musket, shot it at his barn, hitting a door hinge that split the musket ball in two, with each half ricochetting off to hit a different, distant person, each of whom was a doctor. In Melancholy Accidents, Manseau collects and annotates a wide-ranging assortment of these woebegone and oddly intimate reports, with numerous illustrations, photos, and visuals from original period newspapers. It makes for a wholly unique contribution to the ongoing consideration of—and the recent heated discussion about—the historic place of firearms in American society.