Far from Home

Families of the Westward Journey

Author: Lillian Schlissel,Byrd Gibbens,Elizabeth Hampsten

Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

ISBN: 9780803292956

Category: History

Page: 264

View: 7908

DOWNLOAD →

Lillian Schlissel is a professor emerita of English and American Studies at Brooklyn CollegeCUNY. She is the author of numerous books, including The Western Women's Reader (with Catherine Lavender) and Black Frontiers: A History of African American Heroes in the Old West. Byrd Gibbens is a professor of English at the University of New Mexico, Valencia campus, and the author of This Is a Strange Country: Letters of a Western Family 1880-1906.Elizabeth Hampsten is a professor of English at the University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, and the author of Settlers' Children: Growing Up on the Great Plains.

Far from Home

Author: Deborah Moffatt

Publisher: Lapwing Publications

ISBN: 1898472807

Category: Poetry

Page: 47

View: 6493

DOWNLOAD →

Far From Home

Beach View Boarding House 2

Author: Ellie Dean

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446492036

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 8377

DOWNLOAD →

It is 1940 and Staff Nurse Polly Brown has been granted a posting at Cliffehaven Memorial Hospital on the south coast to be near her badly injured husband, Adam. But her decision has meant that she has had to part with their beloved five-year-old daughter, Alice, who is travelling to safety in Canada. Polly's heart is torn in two as she says goodbye to Alice and heads to the Beach View boarding house in Cliffehaven, where she throws herself into her work. But as she confronts the fact that Adam may not survive his injuries, a telegram arrives at Beach View. The boat Alice was on has been torpedoed by a German U-boat...

Far From Home

A young woman finds hope and tragedy in 1920s Liverpool

Author: Lyn Andrews

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755379241

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 3702

DOWNLOAD →

When blacksmith's daughter Kitty Doyle catches the eye of her grocer employer it seems her troubles are over - but there are still dramas to come... In Far From Home, Lyn Andrews travels between both Ireland and Liverpool in this engrossing saga of new beginnings, new tragedies and new loves. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Annie Murray and Dilly Court. As daughter of the blacksmith in her tiny Irish village, fifteen-year-old Kitty Doyle knows little of the ways of the world, but she has to grow up fast when her widowed father re-marries and she has no choice but to leave the family home. Luckily there's work to be found over the water in 1920s Liverpool and soon Kitty has a job in a grocer's, where she also catches the eye of the owner. With Kitty's input the business is soon thriving - but tragedy lies ahead, and she must endure many trials and tribulations before she can find true happiness... What readers are saying about Far From Home: 'A very good read, enjoyed every page. A typical Lyn Andrews book, riveting to the very end. Thoroughly recommend this book' 'Another enthralling read from Lyn Andrews, I couldn't put it down from start to finish. You will not be disappointed'

Far from Home

Author: Joy Bounds

Publisher: Troubador Publishing Ltd

ISBN: 1780881738

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 8497

DOWNLOAD →

This story which I must tell of war and great courage and treachery, is one of loss. Though France may celebrate her achievements for centuries to come, it is the story of how I lost my daughter, Jehanne, whom people here call Jeanne d’Arc, and the peace of my family. Joan of Arc remains one of history’s most puzzling figures. How, in the fifteenth century, could a peasant girl become the head of the French army and have such success against the English occupiers? Her story ends tragically – aged 19 she is burnt at the stake after a sham trial. Far From Home is Joan of Arc’s story told by her mother, Zabillet. This brilliant, vivid historical novel, published in the 600th anniversary year of Joan of Arc’s birth, brings new insight into what it is like to be the mother of a hero. Zabillet knows nothing of her daughter’s extraordinary future as she and her husband, Jacques, struggle to raise their children. A family of peasants, they work the land for their feudal lords and a meagre return for themselves. The English and French are engaged in a senseless war causing destruction to the land and traditional village life. But Jehanne is fiercely independent and refuses to settle down like all the other village girls. Zabillet is shocked and frightened beyond measure when Jehanne leaves home and travels to the uncrowned King of France hundreds of miles away. She struggles to believe that it could be a daughter of hers who leads the French army in amazing victories against the English. And when things go wrong, she has to stand by helplessly as Jehanne is imprisoned by the English and sentenced to death.Zabillet falls into misfortune and despair. The war drags on and for a while her family falls apart. But eventually Jehanne’s vision of a united France is realised. As an old woman, Zabillet seeks justice for her daughter and restores her reputation.

Far From Home

Author: Val Wood

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446436446

Category: Fiction

Page: 576

View: 9394

DOWNLOAD →

When Georgiana Gregory and her maid, Kitty, make the long sea journey from their native Hull for New York, they hope to begin a new life in the freedom of the newly-formed United States of America. Georgiana wants to escape from the confines of English life, and to savour a land of emancipation and opportunity. But in New York, she encounters a man passing himself off as a local mill-owner's son, Edward, who has abandoned Georgiana's sister and fled to America. Georgiana recognises the man standing before her as Edward's valet Robert - Edward himself appears to have vanished. As Georgiana and Kitty pursue the adventures of the frontier, and Edward tries to flee his enemies, the dangers of this new country seem too much to cope with. If you've liked books by Katie Flynn and Dilly Court, you'll love Val's heartwarming stories of triumph over adversity.

Far from Home

A Memoir of a Twentieth-century Soldier

Author: Jeffery Williams

Publisher: University of Calgary Press

ISBN: 1552381196

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 374

View: 3869

DOWNLOAD →

Following the outbreak of war in 1939, Williams was sent to England as an untrained, but enthusiastic, amateur member of the Canadian army. This is a memoir of Williams that offers a retelling of his childhood, of growing up in Calgary during the Depression. It tells tales of meeting various famous & ordinary people of the twentieth century.

Houses Far from Home

British Colonial Space in the New Hebrides

Author: Margaret Rodman

Publisher: University of Hawaii Press

ISBN: 9780824823948

Category: Social Science

Page: 247

View: 5689

DOWNLOAD →

The houses far from home in this work are located in Vanuatu, a chain of islands between Fiji and Australia, which were jointly administered by the British and French from 1906 to 1980. This work tells the stories of these houses.

Far from Home

The Diary of Lt. William H. Peel 1863-1865

Author: Ellen Wilds

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 143899348X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 412

View: 8800

DOWNLOAD →

Lieutenant William H. Peel was 23 years old when Mississippi seceded from the Union, prompting him to join the 11th Mississippi Infantry, along with his younger brother Eli. Captured at the culmination of the Pickett-Pettigrew-Trimble Charge at Gettysburg on July 3, 1863, Peel spent the remainder of his service at the officers' prison on Johnson's Island in Sandusky Bay. By turns elegiac, tragic and often comic Peel's record of those months, along with his detailed account of the famous battle that led to his incarceration, is one of the gems of personal literature created during that most terrible of conflicts. The diary, now in the care of the Mississippi Archives, was transcribed by a Peel descendent who brings to this work an understanding of both the history and the family that shaped him, giving the modern reader a view inside Peel's world.

Far From Home

Stories From the Road

Author: Ffh

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781451604900

Category: Religion

Page: 156

View: 994

DOWNLOAD →

In this book, the popular Christian artists of FFH share experiences from their lives on the road as well as devotional thoughts learned from those experiences. You know what it's like to be far from home, craving the warmth of those you love. You experience feelings and emotions that you don't normally feel when at home, surrounded by those who care. In this book, the popular Christian artists of FFH share experiences from their lives on the road as well as devotional thoughts learned from those experiences. Also included are "letters from the road"—prayers to our Heavenly Father, expressing struggles, hopes, longings, and challenges just like the ones you feel—and room for you to write your own "letters from the road" to God who eagerly anticipates your homecoming. Though the world we live in can feel strange, even hopeless at times, your loving Father offers acceptance, love, forgiveness, and understanding. So join FFH in this inspirational book that will help you feel closer to the Father who loves you unconditionally. You will never be the same. And although you may be far from home, you will feel closer than you ever dreamed you could.