Icefall

Author: Matthew J. Kirby

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

ISBN: 0545274249

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 325

View: 1363

DOWNLOAD →

Trapped in an icy fortress with her siblings and friend Raudi, princess Solveig anxiously awaits news of her father's victory in battle until a series of treacherous acts reveal that a traitor is in their midst, a situation that turns everyone against each other. By the author of The Clockwork Three.

Icefall

Author: Gillian Philip

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 1429967927

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 8366

DOWNLOAD →

Death stalks Seth MacGregor's clan in their otherworld exile. Kate NicNiven is close to ultimate victory, and she is determined that nothing will keep her from it. Not even the thing that took her soul: the horror that lurks in the sea caves. But Kate still needs Seth's son Rory, and his power over the Veil. And she'll go to any lengths to get him. Seth's own soul is rotting from the wound inflicted by Kate, and survival for his loved ones seems all he can hope for. But might a mortal threat to his brother's daughter force him to return to his own world to challenge Kate? And will Rory go with him? Because Rory suspects there's a darkness trapped in the Veil, a darkness that wants to get out. But only one Sithe knows how near it is to getting its way: Seth's bound lover, the witch Finn. Nobody gets forever. But some are willing to try... From critically acclaimed author Gillian Philip, Icefall is the final installment in the Rebel Angels series. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Icefall

Author: Stephanie Gunn

Publisher: Twelfth Planet Press

ISBN: 1922101583

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 5517

DOWNLOAD →

The Mountain on the planet of Icefall holds the mystery to a lost colony and an irresistible, fatal allure to the climbers of the universe. Maggie is determined to be the first to make the summit. Aisha, injured in a climbing incident herself, has always supported her wife, trusting Maggie would always return from her adventures. But no one ever returns from the Mountain.

Icefall

A Dane Maddock Adventure

Author: David Wood

Publisher: Gryphonwood Press

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 122

View: 5284

DOWNLOAD →

When the bones of the Magi are stolen from their resting place in a German cathedral, a dying priest's whispered clue catapults Dane and Bones into the midst of a deadly race to solve a centuries-old conspiracy. Danger lurks at every turn and no one knows where the clues will lead... or what they will uncover. From ancient cathedrals, to hidden temples, to icy mountain peaks, Dane and Bones must outrun and outwit their enemies in the pulse-pounding adventure- Icefall. Fans of Dan Brown, Clive Cussler, and James Rollins will love this thrilling novella! Praise for David Wood "If you're after a fast-paced read, David Wood's wise-cracking heroes Maddock and Bones will take you on a winter romp through snow-covered cathedrals, ice caves, pagan temples and Christian myth in search of the skulls of the Magi. This novella packs in the fist fights, cipher cracking and ancient secrets that all action adventure lovers will enjoy." J.F. Penn, author of Pentecost and Prophecy "A non-stop thrill ride triple threat- smart, funny and mysterious!" Jeremy Robinson, author of Instinct and Threshold "Let there be no confusion: David Wood is the next Clive Cussler. Once you start reading, you won't be able to stop until the last mystery plays out in the final line." Edward G. Talbot, author of 2010: The Fifth World

Icefall

The True Story of a Teenager on a Mission to the Top of the World

Author: Alex Staniforth

Publisher: Coventry House Publishing

ISBN: N.A

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 272

View: 2029

DOWNLOAD →

A suspenseful memoir marked by adventure, hardship, and achievement, Alex Staniforth’s Icefall is the remarkable true story of a teenager’s journey to conquer Mount Everest. Plagued by adversity and epilepsy as a child, Alex developed a determination and will to succeed that would ultimately lead him from his home in Cheshire, England to the face of Everest at only eighteen years old. Though his will to reach the summit was extraordinary, he could have never anticipated the unprecedented dangers and risks that the mountain had in store for him. In this inspirational tale of tragedy and redemption, Alex reveals the universal truth that adversity may be the greatest teacher of all, but nothing can teach you more about life than death.

Icefall

Adventures at the Wild Edges of Our Dangerous, Changing Planet

Author: John All,John Balzar

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1610396944

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 248

View: 1680

DOWNLOAD →

John All has survived encounters with black mamba snakes, run-ins with wild jungle animals, and a brush with death in an icy tomb. No one knows the outer limits of our changing planet quite like him. In May 2014, the mountaineer and scientist John All plunged into a crevasse in the Himalayas, a fall that all but killed him. He recorded a series of dramatic videos as he struggled to climb seven stories back up to the surface with a severely dislocated shoulder, internal bleeding, a battered face covered in blood, and fifteen broken bones--including six cracked vertebrae. The videos became a viral sensation, an urgent and gripping dispatch from one of the least-known extremes of the planet. Yet this climb for his life is only the latest of John All's adventures in some of Earth's most hostile climates. He has also been chased by a wild hyena, scaled Everest, and narrowly missed being hit by an avalanche, all in pursuit of his true calling: the study of how we can master the challenge of our world's changing climate. Icefall is a thrilling adventure story and a report from the extremes of the planet, taking you to collapsing Andean glaciers, hidden jungles in Honduras, and the highest points on Earth. In this gripping account, our changing climate is not a matter of politics; it's a matter of life and death and the human will to survive and thrive in the face of it.

Icefall

Author: Guy Hallowes

Publisher: A & A Publishing

ISBN: 0992438330

Category: Fiction

Page: 640

View: 6607

DOWNLOAD →

This is the way the world ends This is the way the world ends This is the way the world ends Not with a bang ... but a fifteen metre WAVE! The Ross Ice Shelf in the Antarctic, a lump of Ice about the size of France, is forecast to collapse into the sea creating a fifteen metre tsunami that will race around the globe destroying much of the world as we know it. This dire prediction, made by the British Antarctic Survey, New Zealand Scientists, and the Pentagon is ignored by most of the world's population; but not by beautiful, smart Tanya who has worked her way up from poverty to the top of Sydney society, or, to her surprise, by her father-in-law David Bower. They persuade the family to abandon their happy, fulfilled lifestyles to create a secure settlement in the Blue Mountains, enabling them to survive the catastrophe but witness the complete destruction of Sydney and all of Australia's coastal cities. From this, the depths of despair, they find ways to start to rebuild the vibrant society that once existed. ICEFALL - an exciting and fast paced adventure story encompassing a credible threat and an imaginative resolution.