High Frequency Word Phrases Level 5--Dialogue and Quotation Marks

Author: Edward Fry,Timothy Rasinski

Publisher: Teacher Created Materials

ISBN: 1480792535

Category:

Page: 6

View: 2771

DOWNLOAD →

Increase student reading fluency in 5th grade with this engaging and effective lesson! Through strategic use of Fry's Instant Words, students will both improve reading prosody and build important comprehension skills.
Posted in:

The Code

Author: G B Joyce

Publisher: Penguin Canada

ISBN: 0143183443

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 6965

DOWNLOAD →

For fans of Elmore Leonard and Robert B. Parker, meet hockey scout turned private detective Brad Shade, from “one of the best sports writers on the continent” Brad Shade has been just about everywhere hockey is played. He has ridden the buses in the minors, shared dressing rooms with the legends of the game, closed bars with guys destined for the Hall of Fame, and dropped the gloves with journeymen like himself who’ll never get near it. And even though he’s retired after fourteen years of bouncing around the league with more losses than wins and his net worth eroding, he’s still living out of a suitcase and still taking numbers. That’s his day job—scout for LA, where someone in management owes him a favour from his playing days. But when the brutally murdered body of coaching legend Red Hanratty turns up in the parking lot after an old-timers charity game (Shade goes scoreless, again), Shade’s job of scouting the local phenom starts to overlap with investigating the killing of the kid’s grizzled old coach. When the killer goes after Shade’s girlfriend, he finds out that guys don’t stay in the league because they’re good—they stick around because they’re smart enough to know what needs to get done, and just ornery enough to actually do it. From small-town rinks to the draft tables in the big league, G.B. Joyce introduces us to a character Canadians already love—the fourth-liner with a self-deprecating sense of humour and an oversized will to win—and weaves a story out of strands of resentment, greed, and fear that span generations and build to a surprising, thrilling conclusion.

The University of Neoliberal Arts

Author: Keith Ferreira

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595416837

Category: Philosophy

Page: 168

View: 2220

DOWNLOAD →

The University of Neoliberal Arts is also the name of my website, and it is what my books and articles are about, because my website is The University of Neoliberal Arts.

The Book of 'Unnecessary' Quotation Marks

A Celebration of Creative Punctuation

Author: Bethany Keeley

Publisher: Chronicle Books

ISBN: 1452103364

Category: Photography

Page: 176

View: 4318

DOWNLOAD →

From the sarcastic to the suggestive, here are quotation marks as we love them best, doing horrible damage to the English language. Who wouldn't have second thoughts about ordering the "hamburger" on the diner's menu? Would it be best to skip the "blowout" sale at the department store? What hidden price must be paid for something marked "free"? Assembled by the creator of the wildly popular "Blog" of "Unnecessary" Quotation Marks, this book surveys the havoc wreaked by quotation marks on signs, menus, placards, and posters that leave reality upended by supposed "facts." This smarty-pants guide is "perfect" for desperate grammarians, habitual air quoters, and anyone who appreciates a good laugh.

GMAT Prep Course

Author: Jeff Kolby

Publisher: Nova Press

ISBN: 1889057193

Category: Study Aids

Page: 624

View: 1642

DOWNLOAD →

Comprehensive, Rigorous Prep for the New GMAT. Every year students pay as much as $1,000 to test prep companies to prepare for the GMAT. Now you can get the same preparation in a book. GMAT Prep Course provides the equivalent of a 2-month, 50-hour course. Although the GMAT is a difficult test, it is a very learnable test. GMAT Prep Course presents a thorough analysis of the GMAT and introduces numerous analytic techniques that will help you immensely, not only on the GMAT but in business school as well. Features: * Math: Twenty-two chapters provide comprehensive review of GMAT math. * Integrated Reasoning: Thorough analysis of the new integrated reasoning section. * Logical Reasoning: Discover the underlying simplicity of these problems and learn the tactics the GMAT writers use to obfuscate the answers. * Reading Comprehension: Develop the ability to spot places from which questions are likely to be drawn as you read a passage. (pivotal words, counter-premises, etc.) * Sentence Correction: Comprehensive review of GMAT grammar. * Writing Assessment: Learn how to get top scores on your Analysis of Issue and Analysis of Argument essays. * Mentor Exercises: These exercises provide hints, insight, and partial solutions to ease your transition from seeing GMAT problems solved to solving them on your own.

SAT Prep Course

Author: Jeff Kolby

Publisher: Nova Press

ISBN: 1889057649

Category: Study Aids

Page: 628

View: 1654

DOWNLOAD →

Comprehensive, Rigorous Prep for the SAT Every year students pay $1,000 and more to test prep companies to prepare for the new SAT. Now you can get the same preparation in a book. SAT Prep Course provides the equivalent of a 2-month, 50-hour course. The new SAT is challenging but it can be mastered through hard work, analytical thought, and by training yourself to think like an SAT test writer. Many of the exercises in this book are designed to prompt you to think like an SAT test writer. For example, in the math section, you will find Duals. These are pairs of similar SAT problems in which only one property is different. They illustrate the process of creating SAT questions. Features: * Math: Twenty-six chapters provide comprehensive review of SAT math, including the new concepts from Algebra II and Trigonometry. * Reading: Develop the ability to spot places from which questions are likely to be drawn as you read a passage. (pivotal words, counter-premises, etc.) * Writing and Language: Comprehensive analysis of SAT grammar. * Vocabulary: Learn the essential 4000 SAT words and the 400 high-frequency words. * Mentor Exercises: These exercises provide hints, insight, and partial solutions to ease your transition from seeing SAT problems solved to solving them on your own.

Create Impressive Documents

Author: Steve Hards

Publisher: Gower Publishing, Ltd.

ISBN: 9780952877608

Category: Computers

Page: 159

View: 4495

DOWNLOAD →

"Easy to follow and practical, this book is, in effect, a course that will enable you to create word processed reports, leaflets, overhead slides - any documents - with the look that is usually reserved for those that have been professionally printed." "The emphasis of the book is always on why certain design decisions have particular effects on readers. Although written for people who use word processors (not any particular one), it will also be invaluable to many people who use desktop publishing programs."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved