Inside Out & Back Again

Author: Thanhha Lai

Publisher: Univ. of Queensland Press

ISBN: 0702251178

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 276

View: 9416

DOWNLOAD →

Through a series of poems, a young girl chronicles the life-changing year of 1975, when she, her mother, and her brothers leave Vietnam and resettle in Alabama.

Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai Student Workbook

Lesson on Demand

Author: John Pennington

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781539613497

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 7555

DOWNLOAD →

The lessons on demand series is designed to provide ready to use resources for novel study. In this book you will find key vocabulary, student organizer pages, and assessments. This guide is divided into two sections. Section one is the teacher section which consists of vocabulary and activities. Section two holds all of the student pages, including assessments and graphic organizers. Now available! Student Workbooks! Find them on Amazon.com Look for bound print editions on Amazon.com PDF versions can be found on Teacherspayteachers.com
Posted in:

Engaging with Multicultural YA Literature in the Secondary Classroom

Critical Approaches for Critical Educators

Author: Ricki Ginsberg,Wendy J. Glenn

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 0429627912

Category: Education

Page: 210

View: 3156

DOWNLOAD →

With a focus on fostering democratic, equitable education for young people, Ginsberg and Glenn’s engaging text showcases a wide variety of innovative, critical classroom approaches that extend beyond traditional literary theories commonly used in K-12 and higher education classrooms and provides opportunities to explore young adult (YA) texts in new and essential ways. The chapters pair YA texts with critical practices and perspectives for culturally affirming and sustaining teaching and include resources, suggested titles, and classroom strategies. Following a consistent structure, each chapter provides foundational background on a key critical approach, applies the approach to a focal YA text, and connects the approach to classroom strategies designed to encourage students to think deeply and critically about texts, themselves, and the world. Offering a wealth of innovative pedagogical tools, this comprehensive volume offers opportunities for students and their teachers to explore key and emerging topics, including culture, (dis)ability, ethnicity, gender, immigration, race, sexual orientation, and social class.

Butterfly Yellow

Author: Thanhha Lai

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 0062229230

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 304

View: 1608

DOWNLOAD →

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again. In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a split second, Linh is ripped from her arms—and Hằng is left behind in the war-torn country. Six years later, Hằng has made the brutal journey from Việt Nam and is now in Texas as a refugee. She doesn’t know how she will find the little brother who was taken from her until she meets LeeRoy, a city boy with big rodeo dreams, who decides to help her. Hằng is overjoyed when she reunites with Linh. But when she realizes he doesn’t remember her, their family, or Việt Nam, her heart is crushed. Though the distance between them feels greater than ever, Hằng has come so far that she will do anything to bridge the gap.

From the Outside in and Back Again

A Falingsdale Tale

Author: J.M.A. Quinn

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1469111209

Category: Fiction

Page: 82

View: 5565

DOWNLOAD →

The story of Ith is a tragedy of a young boy, left to face life alone. He is forced to come to terms with his own manifestations, to reclaim who he once used to be. With the help of his two friends, Ith learns we all have the ability to create what it is that destroys us, but has to learn on his own that we are also the creators. As the three friends soon find out, those manifestations are as different as each one of them. Now they must struggle to harness their new abilities and learn to balance their power before they are consumed by it. Its not about a problem in general, but a general problem. My hope is for people to walk way with a feeling that although we are culminations of our experiences we have the ability to overcome all obstacles we may put before ourselves.

This Is Not About Me

Author: Janice Galloway

Publisher: Granta Books

ISBN: 1847083064

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 352

View: 4053

DOWNLOAD →

From her earliest years with a boozy, accident-prone father and a reluctantly pragmatic mother, Janice Galloway's grew up as a watcher - careful and vigilant. Then her parents' marriage broke up and mother and daughter moved to an attic above a doctor's surgery. When her big sister Cora returned home, with her steady stream of boyfriends, snappy dress sense and matching temper, evasion became a way of life. This is a funny and telling book about the routine dependencies and confusions, hopes and triumphs of childhood; it is also a book about emergence, as, slowly, the beginnings of unsuspected rage pushed the silent girl towards her voice.

The Road Back Again

Author: Edward T Wilson

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1469110784

Category: Poetry

Page: 92

View: 5479

DOWNLOAD →

Many of my poems centre on the theme of having a positive or moral outcome. We are all the same in that we all feel emotions regardless of who we are. I have always been of the opinion to use rhyme as a simple means to express, as concisely as I can, the reasons why we feel the way that we do and perhaps the reasons why we do the things that we do. For whatever takes place in life, we are all susceptible to the same emotions—regardless of our varying experiences. In turn, it is because of what we feel and experience that make us who we are, or rather, who we have the potential to become—for better or worse. It is my intention that my poems serve as a reminder, or conversely, serve as an additional insight into the fact that we can all rise above our circumstances. Oft times we fall short and in doing so fail to see our worth or the worth in others—either because we fail to remember or fail to do, i.e, to remember to do what is necessary to help ourselves and to be there for others! I have sought to make these poems as insightful as I could, enough to see that we all deserve to be redeemed in one way or another!