Just This Side of Normal

Glimpses Into Life with Autism

Author: Elizabeth King Gerlach

Publisher: Future Horizons

ISBN: 9781932565034

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 139

View: 3238

DOWNLOAD →

"When I grow up I want to be a screwdriver!" A small boy spins down the sidewalk as his mother follows him with her eyes and heart. Nicky has autism. Winner of the ASA Outstanding Literary Work of the Year Award, Just This Side of Normal is a powerful story of a parent's search for understanding in a world that sometimes makes no sense. This book was one of the first autobiographies written by a parent of a child with autism and it continues to inspire both parents and professionals in the autism community.

Just This

Prompts And Practices For Contemplation

Author: Richard Rohr

Publisher: SPCK

ISBN: 0281079927

Category: Religion

Page: 144

View: 5801

DOWNLOAD →

Just This is a collection of brief and evocative meditations and practices. It invites us to cultivate the gift of waking up to the beauty of reality in all its glorious ordinariness. With his signature blend of contemplation, theology and pastoral sensitivity, Fr Richard Rohr creates a spaciousness for the soul to grow into a kind of seeing – one that goes far beyond merely looking, to recognizing and thus appreciating. This is the heart of contemplation, the centerpiece of any inner dialogue that frees us from the traps of our perceptions and preoccupations. The contemplative mind does not tell us what to see; it teaches us how to see what we behold. Praise for Richard Rohr’s The Divine Dance: ‘A beautiful choreography for a life well-lived.’ Bono, U2

Just This

Poems

Author: Brian Turner

Publisher: Victoria University Press

ISBN: 0864736711

Category: Poetry

Page: 111

View: 1476

DOWNLOAD →

The poet’s ongoing love affair with his Central Otago home lies at the heart of this rich and compelling new collection that explores the politics of relationships and relationships themselves. Through a combination of people and place that gives the poems color and humor, the volume also examines friendship, politics, death, and the machinations of the modern business world. The mountains and lakes of the central South Island have a strong presence in the imagery, while wry observations of people in that landscape move the collection far beyond the confines of simple landscape poetry.

Just This Once

A Feel-Good Alpha Male New Zealand Rugby Romance

Author: Rosalind James

Publisher: Rosalind James

ISBN: 0990912418

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 5568

DOWNLOAD →

Everyone needs to be rescued sometimes. Everyone but Hannah Montgomery, that is. She just needs a vacation. Three weeks Down Under, a vacation in New Zealand to sort out her life, figure out what she wants, seems just right. Oh, and to relax. She should definitely put that on the agenda. She certainly isn't looking for a sexy fling with a professional rugby player, no matter how attractive he is. Hannah doesn't do casual. But maybe just this once ... As much as he's shared with Hannah, Drew Callahan has kept one very big secret. He's the captain of New Zealand's All Blacks rugby team, and the most famous rugby player on earth. And learning the truth, now that she's back home again, has made Hannah warier than ever. Drew knows that she's right for him. But how can he convince her to let down her guard enough to explore what they could have together? Go Down Under in this steamy New Zealand sports romance. Fans of Jill Shalvis, Catherine Bybee, and Kristin Higgins will enjoy this book.

Just this Time

Author: Afonso Ligório Pires de Carvalho,Afonso Ligório

Publisher: Thesaurus Editora

ISBN: 9788570620118

Category:

Page: 83

View: 3513

DOWNLOAD →

Posted in:

Just This Once

Author: Trish Jensen

Publisher: Bell Bridge Books

ISBN: 1611943159

Category: Fiction

Page: 201

View: 3294

DOWNLOAD →

Will she say Yes, just this once? As a minister's daughter, Shannon Walsh was raised to say No to a lot of temptations with men at the top of that list. She's an adult now, making her own choices, but until Mr. Right comes along, she plans to keep resisting the call of the wild. Then Rick Hardison moves in next door. The handsome rascal doesn't appear to have spent many hours inside a church, and he doesn't waste any time drawing Shannon inside his wickedly sexy arms. What's a good girl to do when the man of her dreams is a very bad boy? She decides to take a chance. But just this once.

It Happened Just This Way

Author: M. Apodaca

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 1462060692

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 152

View: 3368

DOWNLOAD →

This book was an alternative to suicide. When I thought the only solution was to end my life I decided to write a book outlining my decision. I figured that way everyone I cared about could see that i had no choice but to end it all. The further I got into the book the more I could find reason to live. I actually had to laugh at some of my adventures that I at one time considered sad moments. I began to see how much pleasure I had actually contributed to my friends and family. I’m a 60 year old single mom of one. always trying to find a way or place to fit in with the rest od society. Every new decade brought new hope but no new solution, until age 60.

The Oberon Anthology of Contemporary Irish Plays: 'This is just this. This isn't real. It’s money.’

"This Is Just This. This Is Not Real. It's Just Money"

Author: Thomas Conway

Publisher: Oberon Books

ISBN: 184943672X

Category: Drama

Page: 336

View: 390

DOWNLOAD →

HEROIN by Grace Dyas, Trade by Mark O’Halloran, The Art of Swimming by Lynda Radley, Pineapple by Phillip McMahon, I ? Alice ? I by Amy Conroy, The Big Deal edited by Una McKevitt, Oedipus Loves You by Simon Doyle & Gavin Quinn, The Year of Magical Wanking by Neil WatkinsEdited and introduced by Thomas Conway. This anthology comprises eight new plays by Irish playwrights premièred between the years 2006 and 2011. These playwrights ride, however, in no slipstream of the identifiably Irish play. Here, the enterprise of playwriting itself is being re-imagined. Here, above all else, is a commitment to becoming in the theatre. For all that, each play is concerned with what is unfinished business in Ireland. How astonishing, then, that these plays should revolve for the most part around identity and, in particular, sexual identity. How identity comes into play, how we open up the field of play, how we raise into collective experience the exercise of that play – the urgency in the playwriting would appear to lie precisely here. We can read from the historical moment – from a narrative emphasizing an economic bubble and its hangover – into these plays. Or we can take these playwrights at their word and observe lives lived at the contour of identities in the making. It is for us as readers, just as we have as theatre-goers – frequently scandalized, enthralled, shamed, appalled, unburdened, tickled pink – to decide.