The Secret Kingdom: Leopards' Gold

Author: Jenny Nimmo

Publisher: Egmont UK

ISBN: 1780311877

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 368

View: 2276

DOWNLOAD →

In the conclusion to this beautifully crafted trilogy, bestselling author Jenny Nimmo takes her readers on an extraordinary journey that will enthral any fan of magical fantasy. From the author of the Charlie Bone series and The Snow Spider. Fans of Diana Wynne Jones and Angie Sage’s Septimus Heap will love the Red King’s adventures. Many years have passed since King Timoken settled in Britain, and his majestic home is protected by the wizards Llyr and Eri, whose powerful enchantments make the great Red Castle and its people invisible whenever danger threatens. Then the castle bellman disappears. A trace of blood on the stairs is the only clue as to his fate. Could there be a traitor in their midst? Petrello and Tolomeo, the most inquisitive of Timoken’s nine children, are determined to solve the mystery.

Leopards' Gold

Author: Jenny Nimmo

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781405257343

Category: Adventure stories

Page: 34

View: 3948

DOWNLOAD →

King Timoken has settled peacefully in England, and his majestic home is protected by the wizards Llyr and Eri, who weave spells to make the great red castle and its people invisible whenever danger threatens. But then the castle bellman disappears. Traces of blood on the stairs are the only clues as to his fate. Could there be a traitor in their midst? Petrello, the most inquisitive of Timoken's many children, is determined to solve the mystery.

The Founding of Harvard College

Author: Samuel Eliot Morison

Publisher: Harvard University Press

ISBN: 9780674314511

Category: Education

Page: 472

View: 1113

DOWNLOAD →

Pulitzer Prize-winning author Samuel Eliot Morison traces the roots of American universities in Europe, providing "a lively contemporary perspective...a realistic picture of the founding of the first American university north of the Rio Grande" [Lewis Gannett, New York Herald Tribune].

Sundaland: Tracing The Cradle of Civilizations

Author: Dhani Irwanto

Publisher: INDONESIA HYDRO MEDIA

ISBN: 6027244933

Category:

Page: 386

View: 9914

DOWNLOAD →

Sundaland is a bio-geographical region of Southeastern Asia which encompasses the Sunda Shelf, the part of the Asian continental shelf that was exposed during the Last Ice Age. It included the Malay Peninsula on the Asian mainland, as well as the large islands of Kalimantan, Java and Sumatera, and their surrounding islands. Sundaland is in the tropics, surrounded by oceans, and within the Ring of Fire. Benefitting from the heavy precipitation, volcanic deposits in Sundaland develop into some of the richest forestry and agricultural lands, and developed into some of the richest fauna on Earth. The vast majority of scholars accept that every living human being is descended from a small group in Africa, who then dispersed into the wider world. Archaeological and fossil evidence support an early migration of modern humans left Africa and followed the coastlines of Africa, Arabia, India and Sundaland. After migrating from the semi-deserted savannas of Africa, man first found a place in Sundaland where food was abundant and it was there that they left hunter-gatherer culture and invented farming, agriculture, trading and civilization, which made humanity first flourished. All this took place during the Last Glacial period. The sea levels continued to rise gradually to peak levels about 5,500 years ago, causing land loss on tropical coasts with flat continental shelves. Cracks in the earth’s crust as the weight of the ice shifted to the seas set off catastrophic events compounded by earthquakes, volcano eruptions, super waves and floods drowned the coastal cultures and all the flat continental shelves of Southeast Asia, and wiped out many populations. As the sea rolled in, there was a mass migration from the sinking continent. Genetic studies show that there has been a sharp decline in the population of the world, and population turnovers from Southeast, East and South Asia to Europe, Near East and the Caucasus beginning at the the end of the Younger Dryas period. The Younger Dryas disasters are also documented as legends, myths or tales in almost every region on Earth, observable with tremendous similarities. They are common across a wide range of cultures, extending back into Bronze Age and Neolithic prehistory. The overwhelming consistency among legends and myths of flood and the repopulation of man from a flood hero similar to the Noah Flood are found in distant parts of the Earth. The myths similar to the Garden of Eden, Paradise or Divine Land echo among the populations around the world. Memories of their origin are documented in their legends, such as the stories of Atlantis, Neserser, Land of Punt, Land of Ophir, Kumari Kandam, Kangdez and Taprobana. Pyramids spread in many parts of the world and emerged separately from one another by oceans who supposedly never discovered each other’s existence. Those indicate that they were derived from a common origin. Further, scholastic belief by etymologists and linguists are positive that all world languages sprang from a common source.
Posted in:

Tales of Tibet

Sky Burials, Prayer Wheels, and Wind Horses

Author: Herbert J. Batt

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 9780742500532

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 269

View: 2031

DOWNLOAD →

Vivid and varied images of Tibet spring to life in this first collection of fiction on the country ever translated into English. As the storytellers portray Tibetan hunting traditions, Buddhist lore, and burial rites, they lure readers into a haunting and unfamiliar land.

The Golden Leopard

Author: Lynn Kerstan

Publisher: Bell Bridge Books

ISBN: 1611941547

Category: Fiction

Page: 275

View: 3336

DOWNLOAD →

"Trust an ex-nun to write the hottest, most desperate and exhilarating romance of the year . . . " (Contra Costa Times) Lady Jessica "Jessie" Carville gave up on up men six years ago, after being deserted by Lord Hugo Duran, the man she loved beyond all reason. She has carried on with her life and . . . shockingly . . . with her career. Although most of Society frowns upon a woman in business, Lady Jessica is a natural at collecting and selling antiques. She's put the past behind her until one night at an auction, when Duran shows up. He's back in England, and he has plans that involve her. Can she resist what he has in mind? Duran, though willful and mysterious, is a gentleman--when it suits him. Yet he left his lover without so much a note saying why. Now he's on a mission filled with danger. If he doesn't succeed, he will die. Can he convince Jessica to help him without endangering her as well? Lynn Kerstan, former college professor, folksinger, professional bridge player, and nun, is the author of sixteen romance novels and four novellas, all set in Regency England. A RITA winner and five-time RITA Finalist, her books are regularly listed among the best in the Regency genre. The Golden Leopard and Heart of the Tiger were selected by Library Journal for its Best Books of the Year list (2002 and 2003), and Dangerous Passions was named by Booklist as one of the Top Ten Romances of 2005.