Return of the Aghyrians books 1-4

The complete space opera series

Author: Patty Jansen

Publisher: Patty Jansen

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 6716

DOWNLOAD →

A space opera series that spans four self-contained stories that add up to a larger tale. In Watcher's Web, Jessica comes to the city of Barresh on the world of Ceren through what looks like an accident, but is a kidnapping attempt gone wrong. Jessica (or Anmi) is Aghyrian, an ancient highly intelligent race that gave rise to all human races on all inhabited worlds. Someone is trying to resurrect the almost extinct race, but a mad tyrant from the neighbouring nation of Miran wants Aghyrians for his twisted, evil plans. The botched kidnapping almost brings down the successful business of the Andrahar Trading family of Miran. In book 2, Mikandra has just been accepted as apprentice with them when she sees her life's dream evaporate from under her. Going to Barresh to locate a chunk of the family's missing money sounds simple enough, but she uncovers layers of betrayal by people she trusted. In book 3 jaded soldier Izramith accepts a contract providing security for a an event in Barresh. Privately, she is looking for her uncle who disappeared and is said to be in Miran. He was not the only one; people with a high percentage of Aghyrian blood have been disappearing for years. Attempting to free them from the heart of Miran makes her undertake the most hare-brained operation of all her military career. In book 4 the task of facing the tyrant of Miran is left to the least likely person of all: Ellisandra, a gentile young lady whose normal job it is to run the Mirani state theatre. She has no guns. Her weapons are words and a single public performance of a classic play. Will appeal to readers of C.J. Cherryh, Tamora Pierce and Isobelle Carmody. Space opera, young adult, adventure, science fiction, aliens,
Posted in:

The Return of the Black Company

Author: Glen Cook

Publisher: Tor Books

ISBN: 142998547X

Category: Fiction

Page: 672

View: 8297

DOWNLOAD →

"Let me tell you who I am, on the chance that these scribblings do survive. . . "I am Murgen, Standardbearer of the Black Company, though I bear the shame of having lost that standard in battle. I am keeping these Annals because Croaker is dead, One-Eye won't, and hardly anyone else can read or write. I will be your guide for however long it takes the Shadowlanders to force our present predicament to its inevitable end. . ." The Return of the Black Company comprises the novels Bleak Seasons and She is the Darkness—the third omnibus volume of Glen Cook's fantasy epic Chronicles of the Black Company. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Return of the Guardian-King (Legends of the Guardian-King Book #4)

Author: Karen Hancock

Publisher: Baker Books

ISBN: 9781441204677

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 8587

DOWNLOAD →

The powerful finale to the Christy Award-winning novels in the LEGENDS OF THE GUARDIAN-KING series Believed dead by all but the handful of supporters who rescued him from his Mataian enemies, Abramm Kalladorne has fled his homeland to the high mountains of northern Chesedh. Traveling under a new name with a group of bitter and increasingly desperate fellow exiles, Abramm hopes to reunite with his wife in Chesedh, where he will offer his services to her father in fighting the invading armies of the Black Moon. But with every step he is hindered, delayed, and diverted from the direction he desires to go, and it soon becomes clear Eidon has other plans for him. In the royal city of Fannath Rill, Maddie alone believes Abramm still lives. But since she has no proof, her friends, family, and public opinion press her to remarry. With its neighboring realms now under enemy control, Chesedh has become the last bastion of Eidon's Light. Desperately overmatched, it cannot survive on its own. Yet the rich, handsome eastern warlord who is openly courting Maddie has a vast fleet of galley ships that could turn the tide in Chesedh's favor....

The Return of the Tidal Flow of the Middle Passage

Author: Jacob Oluwatayo Adeuyan

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 9781463424084

Category: History

Page: 232

View: 3083

DOWNLOAD →

This book is a high profile reference book on the ordeal and ugly situations that befell the African continent; its people; its economy and why it was impossible for the continent to achieve much in the areas of scientific fit, natural development and social backwardness when is to be compared to other continents of the world. African people are never lazy folks as it was erroneously believed and propagated by some nationalities from other places of the world. If history was to be believed, African continent was one of the first places of the world where civilization and technology started even when others from other regions of the world were still looking for what to hold to support their walking exercise. Africa was one of the first fast growing Continent of the world in the acquisition of science and other human related knowledge, the study of solar system and other planets from its God given bank of knowledge. Universities of Timbuktu and Cairo is in a better position to attest to this fact from their records.The turn around of events that choked-up the people of the early generations of the continent began during the escalation of slave trade era. The relationship between an African person and their kings (Obas), the Chiefs and the Nobles on one hand and the down-trodden people that constituted the larger population of the community on the other created an un-level ground that benefited the former than the later. The advantage of absolute respect that the former was enjoying from the lower class was now being used on them when the trade was booming. African culture is a culture that gives absolute respect and honor to the elders and the well-to-do personalities among its community. When the hunting for slaves was at its peak in the West Coast of Africa for example, this class of well-to-do people were the intermediaries between the Oyinbos (white men) and the African slave traders who were then living at cities along the coast.

The Return of the Navajo

Author: CARN JENSEN

Publisher: Author House

ISBN: 9781452060118

Category: Fiction

Page: 276

View: 9475

DOWNLOAD →

The land of the Navajo is in turmoil. Thousands have returned after four years of captivity to find it laid waste by fire and neglect. Like others, the clan of headman Manuelito is rebuilding. Helping is the eldest son, Chee Panther, and his white wife, Yucca Flower. A Shaman Singer, Juanico, has been summoned to bless the new hogans. His hatred of white people becomes a problem for Yucca Flower. While hunting for mustangs, Panther meets a young rebel leader. Panther is drawn to his plan of action. Yucca Flower goes to Fort Defiance to learn when the promised food and seeds will be given out. She agrees to help with this. Kit Fox, Panther’s younger brother, has also returned to Navajoland. He wants Yucca Flower and schemes to make it happen. Rumors circulate about raids on white settlers. The final treaty releasing the Navajo forbids this. Many fear they will again be herded into captivity.

The Return of Christ

A Premillennial Perspective

Author: David L. Allen,Steve W Lemke

Publisher: B&H Publishing Group

ISBN: 1433675811

Category: Religion

Page: 304

View: 8020

DOWNLOAD →

In the study of end times (eschatology), evangelical Christians usually adhere to one of three positions. Premillennialism holds that Christ will return to earth before He reigns over an earthly kingdom for one thousand years. Postmillennialism says the kingdom of God will become realized on this earth through the church's influence, even before Christ's return. Amillennialism suggests the millennium is not a literal thousand-year reign, but that Christ's return will usher in eternity. The Return of Christ gathers presentations from the Acts 1:11 Conference where church leaders spoke in support of the premillennial position and pre-tribulation rapture. Regardless of whether or not a reader holds this same position, the text emphasizes the deep importance of eschatology in Christ's teaching ministry and as the focus for our hope. Indeed, without the promise of Christ's return, Christianity has little to offer the unbeliever. The book's dozen contributors include Jerry Vines, Ergun Caner, Danny Akin, Paige Patterson, David Allen, Richard Land, Junior Hill, Stanton R. Norman, Craig Blaising, Lamar Cooper, Steven Cox, and Michael Vlach.

The Return of a King

The Battle for Afghanistan

Author: William Dalrymple

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 1408818302

Category: Afghanistan

Page: 567

View: 6853

DOWNLOAD →

In 1839 18,000 British troops marched into Afghanistan. Three years later, only one man emerged to tell the tale...... A towering history of the first Afghan war by bestselling historian William Dalrymple.

The Return of Dr. Fu-Manchu

Author: Sax Rohmer

Publisher: Titan Books

ISBN: 0857686704

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 5537

DOWNLOAD →

London, 1913—the era of Sherlock Holmes, Dracula, and the Invisible Man. A time of shadows, secret societies, and dens filled with opium addicts. Into this world comes the most fantastic emissary of evil society has ever known... Dr. Fu-Manchu. The insidious doctor returns to Great Britain with his league of assassins, the dreaded Si-Fan. He seeks to subvert the realm at the highest levels, but Fu-Manchu has his own secrets—which he will protect by any means. Includes an Afterword by Leslie S Klinger.