Supernormal

Science, Yoga, and the Evidence for Extraordinary Psychic Abilities

Author: Dean Radin PhD

Publisher: Deepak Chopra

ISBN: 0307986918

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 400

View: 4321

DOWNLOAD →

Can yoga and meditation unleash our inherent supernormal mental powers, such as telepathy, clairvoyance, and precognition? Is it really possible to perceive another person's thoughts and intentions? Influence objects with our minds? Envision future events? And is it possible that some of the superpowers described in ancient legends, science fiction, and comic books are actually real, and patiently waiting for us behind the scenes? Are we now poised for an evolutionary trigger to pull the switch and release our full potentials? Dean Radin, Director of Research at the Institute of Noetic Sciences (IONS) and bestselling author of The Conscious Universe, presents persuasive new experimental evidence for the existence of such phenomena. He takes us on a thrilling scientific journey and challenges outdated assumptions that these abilities are mere superstition. Focusing on Patanjali's mysterious Yoga Sutras -- 2,000 year-old meditation practices believed to release our extraordinary powers -- Radin offers powerful evidence confirming that sometimes fact is much stranger, spookier, and more wonderful than the wildest fiction.

Supernormal Growth

China's Economy 1979-2049

Author: Jeffrey Zhengfu SHI

Publisher: World Scientific

ISBN: 193813463X

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 190

View: 4547

DOWNLOAD →

"Supernormal Growth confirms the supernormal achievements of China by providing founding statistics that China, during the past 35 years, experienced a synchronous high-speed growth of investment, consumption, labor productivity with low volatility. First of its kind, Jeffrey Shi analyzes the unique structure and operating mechanism of China's existing market economy from a theoretic perspective, and attributes China's supernormal growth to supernormal investment aroused by China's three dimensional (3-D) market system which consists of competitive enterprises, competitive local governments and central government and to supernormal purchasing power created by American's finance-driving strategy. In examining multiple challenges of China one by one, the Shi proposes a whole conception of national strategic asset investment system which does not interfere with the operation of normal market, but provides sustainable extra force to extend China's supernormal growth, and also an innovative idea of relieving polarization of the poor and the rich through a ""1.5th income distribution"" system, so as to provide a panoramic view of China's supernormal growth strategy in the next 30 years. Shi is not only a respected scholar, but also a successful businessman, giving Supernormal Growth a more valuable reference in answering many questions about China's development no matter in the past or future."--

Supernormal

Childhood Adversity and the Untold Story of Resilience

Author: Meg Jay

Publisher: Canongate Books

ISBN: 1782114955

Category: Psychology

Page: 400

View: 3197

DOWNLOAD →

In this seminal new study of resilience, Meg Jay tells the stories of a diverse group of people who have overcome trauma in their childhoods to go on and live successful lives as adults. These are the 'supernormal', who having shouldered greater than average hardship as children defy expectation and achieve better than average success as adults. But how, and at what cost? Whether it was experiencing parental divorce, or growing up with an alcohol or drug-abusing parent, living with a parent or sibling with mental illness, being bullied, living in poverty, being a witness to domestic violence, suffering physical or emotional neglect, the people Meg Jay introduces us to are all survivors. She explores what they have in common that made it possible for them to transcend the trauma of their early years and to build successful adult lives. And she asks the questions: What was the cost of developing those powers? And having survived, even thrived, how do you go on and build a trusting, fulfilled life? Drawing on her clinical experience with survivors of childhood trauma, Meg Jay documents ordinary people made extraordinary by the experience of all-too-common trauma. Bringing together personal, scientific and cultural knowledge Jay gives a voice to the experience of the 'supernormal', furnishes them with the tools to better understand themselves and take full advantage of their strengths, and gives a window into their world for those who seek to understand them.

Supernormal Stimuli: How Primal Urges Overran Their Evolutionary Purpose

Author: Deirdre Barrett

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 9780393077339

Category: Science

Page: 224

View: 1643

DOWNLOAD →

A Harvard psychologist explains how our once-helpful instincts get hijacked in our garish modern world. Our instincts—for food, sex, or territorial protection— evolved for life on the savannahs 10,000 years ago, not in today’s world of densely populated cities, technological innovations, and pollution. We now have access to a glut of larger-than-life objects, from candy to pornography to atomic weapons—that gratify these gut instincts with often-dangerous results. Animal biologists coined the term “supernormal stimuli” to describe imitations that appeal to primitive instincts and exert a stronger pull than real things, such as soccer balls that geese prefer over eggs. Evolutionary psychologist Deirdre Barrett applies this concept to the alarming disconnect between human instinct and our created environment, demonstrating how supernormal stimuli are a major cause of today’s most pressing problems, including obesity and war. However, Barrett does more than show how unfettered instincts fuel dangerous excesses. She also reminds us that by exercising self-control we can rein them in, potentially saving ourselves and civilization.

Supernormal

Author: Andrew McConnell

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781743791325

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 4708

DOWNLOAD →

Posted in:

The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #2: The Sphinx's Secret

Author: Gwenda Bond,Chistopher Rowe

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 0062459996

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 352

View: 3465

DOWNLOAD →

The action-packed sequel to The Lost Legacy, which Booklist called “Monstrous fun!” Living in a hotel full of monsters isn’t always easy. Stephen is trying to adapt as quickly as he can, but there’s still a lot he doesn’t know. When a sorcerer casts a spell on the hotel and all its inhabitants, Stephen and his friends must find a way to undo the magic before their home is changed forever. This mystery-adventure with a time-travel twist is Hotel Transylvania meets Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library. It’s only been a few weeks since Stephen started living at the New Harmonia—a hotel that caters to a supernormal clientele, including bigfeet, vampires, dragons, and talking gargoyles—and he still has a lot to learn. His latest discovery? The lions in front of the New York Public Library are actually sphinxes, guarding a secret treasure trove of magical objects. When a mysterious wizard steals a powerful wand from the collection and casts a spell on the entire supernormal world, Stephen and his friends must find a way to reverse the magic before it becomes permanent. This inventive and accessible mystery-adventure is full of friendship, humor, and a curious cast of characters perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps series.

Supernormal

Author: Dean Radin

Publisher: Maribeth G. Heflin

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 9620

DOWNLOAD →

Can yoga and meditation unleash our inherent supernormal mental powers, such as telepathy, clairvoyance, and precognition? Is it really possible to perceive another person's thoughts and intentions? Influence objects with our minds? Envision future events? And is it possible that some of the superpowers described in ancient legends, science fiction, and comic books are actually real, and patiently waiting for us behind the scenes? Are we now poised for an evolutionary trigger to pull the switch and release our full potentials? Dean Radin, Director of Research at the Institute of Noetic Sciences (IONS) and bestselling author of The Conscious Universe, presents persuasive new experimental evidence for the existence of such phenomena. He takes us on a thrilling scientific journey and challenges outdated assumptions that these abilities are mere superstition. Focusing on Patanjali's mysterious Yoga Sutras -- 2,000 year-old meditation practices believed to...
Posted in:

International Handbook of Giftedness and Talent

Author: K. A. Heller,F. J. Mönks,R. Subotnik,Robert J. Sternberg

Publisher: Elsevier

ISBN: 9780080544168

Category: Education

Page: 950

View: 1877

DOWNLOAD →

The first edition of this popular reference work was published in 1993 and received critical acclaim for its achievement in bringing together international perspectives on research and development in giftedness and talent. Scholars welcomed it as the first comprehensive volume in the field and it has proved to be an indispensable resource to researchers. Since the first edition, the scholarly field of giftedness and talent studies has expanded and developed, welcoming contributions from researchers in related disciplines. Several theoretical frameworks outlined in the first edition have now been empirically tested and a number of new trends have emerged. The Second Edition of the International Handbook of Giftedness and Talent provides an invaluable research tool to academics, researchers and students interested in the field of giftedness and talent. The contributors are renowned in the field and the broad range of topics on giftedness that have been studied in the past century, right up to the late 1990s, are represented in this volume. It is truly international in scope, bringing together leading scholars and teachers from all around the world. This new edition has been fully updated and rewritten and includes 22 completely new chapters. It provides a comprehensive review and critical synthesis of significant theory; a unique cross-national perspective with contributions from over 100 distinguished authors covering 24 nations; significant contributions from scholars working in related fields; an increased focus on empirically supported scholarship; and is arranged for quick and easy reference with comprehensive subject and author indexes.

The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #1: The Lost Legacy

Author: Gwenda Bond,Chistopher Rowe

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 0062459961

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 416

View: 1476

DOWNLOAD →

Three kids. A hotel full of monsters. And a stolen magical artifact that could disrupt the balance between the humans and the supernatural. Welcome to life at Hotel Monster! Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library meets Hotel Transylvania in the first book of this hilarious and spooky new series that blends mystery with monsters. Stephen’s dad decided to move the two of them across the country to New York City, where he is taking over as head chef in an exclusive hotel. A hotel that has the most elite of clientele: monsters! Surprise! (Though they prefer to be called supernormals.) And an even bigger surprise? Stephen is part supernormal himself. When a magical family heirloom is stolen and Stephen is framed, he must work with two new friends to navigate this whole new world and clear his name. After all, consequences can be dire in the world of monsters. Spooky, funny, and full of monstrous hijinks, The Lost Legacy is an inventive and accessible mystery-adventure full of friendship and humor—perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and R. L. Stine’s Goosebumps series.