The Green Bicycle

Author: Haifaa Al Mansour

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0698183487

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 352

View: 1844

DOWNLOAD →

In the vein of Year of the Dog and The Higher Power of Lucky, this Middle Eastern coming-of-age story is told with warmth, spirit, and a mischievous sense of humor Spunky eleven-year-old Wadjda lives in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia with her parents. She desperately wants a bicycle so that she can race her friend Abdullah, even though it is considered improper for girls to ride bikes. Wadjda earns money for her dream bike by selling homemade bracelets and mixtapes of banned music to her classmates. But after she's caught, she’s forced to turn over a new leaf (sort of), or risk expulsion from school. Still, Wadjda keeps scheming, and with the bicycle so closely in her sights, she will stop at nothing to get what she wants. Set against the shifting social attitudes of the Middle East, The Green Bicycle explores gender roles, conformity, and the importance of family, all with wit and irresistible heart.

The White Woman on the Green Bicycle

Author: Monique Roffey

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1847375006

Category: English fiction

Page: 439

View: 9554

DOWNLOAD →

the turn of the twenty-first century, where gang-related violence and murder happen on the streets every day." --Book Jacket.

The Boy on the Green Bicycle

A Memoir

Author: Margaret Diehl

Publisher: Soho PressInc

ISBN: N.A

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 309

View: 4100

DOWNLOAD →

The author shares the efforts of her family to cope with the death of the eldest son followed closely by the father's suicide

The Green Bicycle Mystery

The Curious Case of Bella Wright

Author: Antony M. Brown

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781907324697

Category: Cold cases (Criminal investigation)

Page: 276

View: 7196

DOWNLOAD →

The first of a unique set of books. Each one tells the story of an unsolved crime in an evocative and compelling way, it presents fresh evidence, exposes the strengths and weaknesses of past evidence, and then asks the reader to decide on the killer. The series begins with the tragic case of Bella Wright. In a lonely lane running through rural Leicestershire in 1919, a solitary bicycle lies on its side, its metal frame catching the glow of the fading evening light. The front wheel slowly turns about its axle, producing a soft clicking; a rhythmic sound, soothing like the ticking of a study clock. Next to the bicycle, lying at an angle across the road, is a young woman. She is partly on her back, partly on her left side, with her right hand almost touching the mudguard of the rear wheel. Her legs rest on the roadside verge, where fronds of white cow parsley and pink rosebay rise above luxuriant summer foliage. On her head sits a wide-brimmed hat, daintily finished with a ribbon and bow. She is dressed in a pastel blouse and long skirt underneath a light raincoat, the pockets of which contain an empty purse and a box of matches. The blood-flecked coat tells a story. Although each book is perfectly self-contained, there is an online forum for those who wish to share verdicts and opinions, making these the first truly interactive crime tales. Beautifully presented with uniquely illustrated covers they also contain evidence images and maps. For lovers of crime stories, this new collection of Cold Case Jury books will not just bring a murder story to life--it will make you a part of it.

Sherlock Holmes

The Unauthorized Biography

Author: Nick Rennison

Publisher: Grove/Atlantic, Inc.

ISBN: 9781555848736

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 4504

DOWNLOAD →

“An in-depth biography of the world’s most famous detective that will intrigue Sherlockians and non-Sherlockians alike.” —Publishers Weekly He has been called a genius and a fraud, a hero and an addict, but who really was Sherlock Holmes? With an attention to detail that would make his subject envious, Nick Rennison combs the literature for clues, omissions, and inconsistencies in Dr. Watson’s immortal narration. He delves into Holmes’s contact with prominent historical figures—including Oscar Wilde and Sigmund Freud—and uncovers startling, new information. How did a Cambridge dropout and bit player on the London stage transform himself into a renowned consulting detective? Did he know the identity of Jack the Ripper? When did Holmes and his nemesis, Professor Moriarty, first cross paths? Did Sherlock Holmes, protector of the innocent, commit the very act he so often worked to prevent, the cold-blooded, premeditated murder of Moriarty? Sherlock Holmes: The Unauthorized Biography answers these questions and many more as it careens through the most infamous crimes and historic events of the Victorian age, all in pursuit of the real man behind the greatest detective in modern fiction—and, just perhaps, nonfiction.

Green Careers

Choosing Work for a Sustainable Future

Author: Jim Cassio,Alice Rush

Publisher: New Society Publishers

ISBN: 1550924281

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 368

View: 2338

DOWNLOAD →

People of all ages and backgrounds are seeking work in career fields that will help save the planet, yet many people are unaware of the variety of green careers available. This unique career guidance book, based on labor market research, covers green jobs representing almost every area of career interest. The authors’ extensive experience in workforce development will help you explore tomorrow’s green career options by answering such questions as: What green careers are available? What salary can I expect? What education do I need? What is the demand for this profession? How do I change to a green career? Green Careers offers clear and concise information about the emerging field of environmental jobs. Chapters include: Industry-by-industry overview of green jobs Ninety different occupations in twelve different career groups Over sixty case studies and interviews of people working in green jobs Career planning information Job search resources This book will appeal to students, career explorers, job seekers, and career and workforce development professionals. It is an indispensable guide for finding a career to feel passionate about and prospering while doing what you love. Jim Cassio is a career and workforce information consultant who has conducted hundreds of workforce studies and published occupational resource books, including Career Pathways Handbook. Alice Rush, MA, MCC, is a certified and registered career counselor and founder of CareerU®—counseling for the public and Fortune 500 companies. She is author of Paid to Play and a part-time faculty member of Folsom Lake College.

The Red Bicycle

The Extraordinary Story of One Ordinary Bicycle

Author: Jude Isabella

Publisher: Kids Can Press Ltd

ISBN: 1771384441

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 32

View: 3581

DOWNLOAD →

Leo rides his beloved red bicycle to school, soccer practice and everywhere in between. He is devastated when he outgrows Big Red. But when Leo learns of a bicycle donation program, he perks up - someone who really needs his bike can give it a new life. Little does he know that Big Red will change other people's lives, too. Follow the bike as it travels to West Africa, where it helps people in Burkina Faso bring goods to the market, and serves as a makeshift ambulance, proving that an ordinary bicycle can be truly extraordinary.